Weekend Update

This weekend seemed to fly right by! We started today off with a visit from my sister and my brother-in-law who came to check out the new place. It was nice to see some familiar faces and got to enjoy some gluten-free carrot cake cookies from a nearby bakery we picked up yesterday.The rest of the day has been spent lounging around. So overall, it’s been a relaxing day in contrast to yesterday .

Processed with VSCO
Annabell is enjoying our new house warming present and has claimed it as hers.

Saturday Garrett walked to the farmers market down the street and picked up a few things while Annabell and I slept in. We ended up grabbing lunch at a nearby restaurant and ate outside( and being the only ones out there)and enjoyed the sunshine and the breeze. They had the cutest outdoor bar and my burger and fries hit the spot.If you can’t tell, we have been enjoying checking out the nearby restaurants and diners around and  still have a bunch more places to check out.

Processed with VSCO
Saturdays lunch date at the Tavern on the Lock. We definitately plan on going back.

 

Here’s what’s been happening since the last update.

Garrett and I have finally moved everything out of the old apartment! All we need to do is hand in the keys. Unfortunately I currently have 2 tubs filled with kitchen things hanging around the apartment that I need to find space for. Though the weather was warm this week, I decided to act like the temperature had already dropped by making a large pot of vegetarian chili and some homemade apple crisp.While Garrett is a fan of the summer heat, he is anxiously awaiting cooler temperatures since he can put his beer brewing kit to use.

Right now are still talking over wallpaper choices for the kitchen. For the most part, he is against florals since “he wants to like the wallpaper too”. So while flowers seem to be a no go, he did okay a cat/taco print wallpaper. Despite my previous complaints about the yellow kitchen, we both liked a pineapple print wallpaper and I’ve been looking at some sunflower prints. Hopefully we (or I ) can make a decision sometime next week so I can place an order for a few samples and place an order. While we are still waiting for some repairs to be made in the kitchen, we ended up buying a hanging plant from Lowe’s that brings a smile to my face everytime I see it and adds that extra something. I plan on making another trip for another hanging plant and a few small ones for the rest of the apartment.

Processed with VSCO
My new favorite thing about the kitchen. I need another one for the other window.
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
A more detailed shot of the plant

In between cooking and organizing, I’ve been drooling over all of the new fall clothes. Unsurprisingly, I want all of the fall line fom  Madewell and Free People to magically appear in my closet( My next entry will be my top picks for fall clothes). Something I can stock up on without Garrett rolling his eyes at me are candles. When it comes to scents, I tend to be pretty picky. I find most food/fruity scents are cloyingly sweet and give me a headache. Right now my candle of choice is this Bourbon candle by Makers of Wax Goods.It has a rich warm scent that lingers around the apartment, but it’s not over powering. I’m thinking of placing an order for their Gin candle since Garrett and I are big fans of gin.

2016-09-11 06.32.19 1.jpg
I think I might place an order for another one of these.

Maybe it’s the influence of 90s fashion, a side effect of drinking Crystal Pepsi or the nostalgia of being a kid since school is back in session, but lately I have been listening to 90s R&B playlists (and 90s music in general)on Spotify. Boyz II Men, TLC,and Rage Against the Machine( much to Garretts liking) are on heavy rotation right now. When I’m not being nostolgic, I’ve been listening to new Bon Iver songs and to no one’s surprise, I am anxiously awaiting the new album to come out at the end of the month. I have a feeling Garrett is gonna revoke my rights as the car dj from playing the album constantly. Two of my favorite bands, Coheed & Cambria(one of the few bands I love that Garrett likes) and Saves The Day are on tour this fall so I’m hoping that Garrett and I get to go see them.

I plan on spending the rest of tonight and probably tomorrow binge watching Stranger Things which we (finally) started earlier today. Hope everyone had a great weekend and has a great start to the week!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

