What I’m working on:Learning to code

2015-10-29_00.01.14

Something that I like to do in my spare time is learning how to code. If you had asked me a year ago what I wanted to do or where I see myself 5 years from now ,I would have responded hopefully living in Portland Oregon ,eating Salt&Straw ice cream every day and a job that had something to do with fashion (merchandising or styling) or a basic office job(The first two things are still goals of mine). These days my career goal is to be a front end web developer. Coding isn’t something I fell in love with right away. I was apprehensive when my friend mentioned we both should learn. She sent me the link to CodeCademy and I enrolled thinking it would be something to pass the time when it was slow at work or something to do when I was bored. I am someone who can lose interest in something when I hit a road block.  I decided I would at least try to learn HTML/CSS since it seemed like it was the most basic to learn and if anything, would like good on a resume.  As I progressed through the courses, I found it is something I really enjoy. I like being able to figure out why the string I typed didn’t pass me to the next course and the feeling of satisfaction once I work it out myself. Unless I have a strong opinion on something, I tend to answer questions with I guess or I don’t know. I like that coding makes me think of what the answer or solution is .

Lately I have been considering whether or not to enroll in bootcamp. While web developer jobs are abundant, it is still very competitive. Being able to learn at my own pace and at my own time has been great(especially with my schedule) and I feel like the course through CodeCademy has given me an understanding of different coding languages and their process . However, I like the idea of being able to work one on one with a mentor and being given projects to do with situations you may come across and have them evaluated. Also, some bootcamps will help prepare you the interview process. I worry that while I may have knowledge of the programs required for that position, I will be unprepared for the interview process( thinking of the whiteboard test makes me feel anxious) or I won’t have enough projects to show what I am capable of. One of the  downsides of coding boot camp is they aren’t exactly cheap. Some range from $1,300 -$13,000 or more. Also, they can be pretty time consuming as well and maybe difficult with having a full time job. So I’m carefully weighing the pros and cons.

With that being said , I am hoping to eventually create my own theme and change the layout of my blog by putting what coding knowledge I have gained to use. Hopefully you will see some changes coming soon.

What is something new you have learned? Any new hobbies or projects you are working on?

One thought on “What I’m working on:Learning to code

  1. helegbe 10/30/2015 / 7:36 AM

    i really like it .keep it up ok. bt how do i get a help from u.i also want to be a programmer

    Like

Leave a Reply

